Women’s Peer Mentoring Group

The Women’s Peer Mentoring Group (PMG) is a self-organized group of early-career female scientists on short-term contracts at WSL/SLF. It aims to support the career development of its members by promoting their skills on their paths to becoming recognized scientists.

The participants organize workshops with experts on topics such as self-marketing, leadership skills or grant writing. They reflect on their short- and long-term individual career goals in the group and together with their mentors. The knowledge gained, the sharing of common experiences and the intense exchange enable the female scientists to better master challenges in the scientific environment. The aim of the group is to build a strong and sustainable support network inside and outside WSL.

The group welcomes new members once a year.


For more information about the Peer Mentoring Group write to pmg(at)wsl.ch or contact one of the members directly.


Ana Beatriz Daunt, Land Change Science

Maria Garcia Martin, Land Change Science

Friederike Gebert, Biodiversity and Conservation Biology

Shyamolina Ghosh, Biodiversity and Conservation Biology

Claudia Guidi, Forest Soils and Biogeochemistry

Hristina Hristova, Forest Resources and Management

Maja Ilic, Forest Health and Biotic Interactions

Nissaf Karbout, Forest Soils and Biogeochemistry

Deborah Leigh, Biodiversity and Conservation Biology / Ecological Genetics

Johanna Malle, Land Change Science / Snow and Atmosphere

Elisabet Martinez-Sancho, Co-lead 2021-2022, Forest Dynamics

Giulia Mazzotti, Snow and Atmosphere

Valentina Vitali, Co-lead 2021-2022, Forest Dynamics


Carolina Bello (2020-2021), Biodiversity and Conservation Biology

Alessandra Bottero (2019-2020), Research Associate, Forest Dynamics, WSL-SLF

Nathalie Chardon(2019-2021), Community Ecology

Ilka Dubernet (2020-2021), Economics and Social Sciences

Petra D'Odorico (2020-2021), Forest Dynamics

Esther Frei (2019-2020), Research Associate, Forest Dynamics, WSL-SLF

Franziska Gerber (2019-2021), Snow and Permafrost

Charlotte Grossiord (2019-2020), Joint Professorship, Group leader, Leader WSL site Lausanne; Forest Dynamics, Community Ecology, Functional Plant Ecology, EPFL / WSL

Annelen Kahl (2019-2020), CEO at startup SUNWELL Sárl and Scientific Staff Member, Snow and Permafrost, WSL-SLF

Anna Haberkorn (2019-2021), Snow and Permafrost

Amanda Mathys (2020-2021), Forest Resources and Management

Tamaki Ohmura (2020-2021), Economics and Social Sciences

Jeanne Portier (2019-2021),  Forest Resources and Management

Flurina Wartmann (2019-2020), Lecturer, Geography and Environment, University of Aberdeen, Scotland

Clare Webster (2020-2021), Mountain Hydrology & Mass Movement

Yasmine Willi (2019-2021), Economics and Social Sciences

Chunhong Zhao (2019-2020), PostDoc, Landscape dynamics, WSL-SLF


Esther Thürig (2019 - current), Group Leader, Forest Resources and Forest Management, Resource Analysis, WSL

Catherine Graham (2019 - current), Group Leader, Biodiversity and Conservation Biology, Spatial Evolutionary Ecology, WSL

Martina Peter (2020 - current), Group Leader, Biodiversity and Conservation Biology, Ecological Genetics, WSL

Rebecca Mott (2020 - current), Scientific Employee, Snow and Atmosphere, Snow Hydrology, SLF